I Made My First Raw Dessert!

I’m feeling really inspired after a few days of being in the dull-drums and I may just have to attribute part of that to conquering my first raw dessert recipe! 

Raw Cheesecake

Raw Cheesecake with Fresh Berries

 

Isn’t she a beauty?! Sorry to brag, I’m not one who normally takes photos of my food but I was just too darn proud of this one. 

The Recipe:

From Paul Jarvis’ e-book Eat Awesome (Bonus – you can purchase his e-book chock full of yummy recipes for $1. That’s right, ONE DOLLAR… click on the link to buy it now) 

2 cups of raw cashews (soaked, rinsed, drained)
1 cup of almond meal
3/4 cup of dates (de-pitted)
Juice of 1 1/2 lemons
1/4 cup maple syrup
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1/2 cup of cherries (de-pitted)
1/2 cup of strawberries

For the crust, blend almond meal and dates together until mixture sticks together. Smush mixture into a 6-8 inch pie dish.

For the filling, blend cashews, lemon juice, maple syrup, vanilla until silky smooth. Scoop filling over crust. Freeze for at least on hour.

For the topping, blend cherries and strawberries. Add a little maple syrup to adjust sweetness (optional).

Defrost cheesecake in the fridge for 45-60 minutes, until the centre is cold but not frozen. Slice and serve with a hearty drizzle of the fruit topping. 

It tasted just as good as it looks! I was shocked at how much the filling tasted like real cheesecake, and with no dairy or sugar – crazy. 

I have to give props to Jess Ainscough AKA The Wellness Warrior for bringing this recipe to my attention. She is amazing and such an inspiration for me. This week she is featuring healthy desserts so make sure to check her out and subscribe to her newsletter today.

Here’s a few more delicious raw desserts she featured on Tuesday.

Happy healthy eating my loves! 

Daily Affirmation: “I honour my body” 

Leave a Reply

