Settling Nerves

I’m super psyched today as I’m taking the day off work to be a student for a day at the Institute of Holistic Nutrition in Vancouver. I was really looking forward to it until the day came and all of the sudden… BAM!… an intense nervous energy hit me. It came out of nowhere, all of the sudden I was shy, fearful and scared that I wouldn’t be welcomed into this new community. My saboteur was back. We’ll the hard truth I learned today is that she never really leaves I just have to choose whether I want to listen to her or not. So I asked myself two questions:

  1. “What’s really going on here?”
  2. “Why am I feeling this way?”

I realized I was nervous to be open and vulnerable to a new group of people. The issue wasn’t whether this new community would accept me, it was if I was willing to accept myself in this new situation. Could I be authentic and brave enough to be my real self? Of course! I made some mistakes (like calling the head administrator by the wrong name… OOPS) but mistakes are inevitable! What matters is how you react to it afterwards. I apologized and then I let it go. I was there to learn about this school to see if it was the right fit for me. Not to impress a group of strangers. So here I go, I am setting the intention to be my authentic self for the rest of that day so that I can take in as much new information as possible. I challenge you to set the intention to be your authentic self today too.

Daily Affirmation: “I love myself exactly as I am in this moment”

Leave a Reply

