The Never Ending Story…

The past few weeks the universe has been sending me the same message over and over. It revolves around the ego and the stories that we create, and perpetuate, inside our own minds. The message is that I need to bring more awareness to my thoughts and be curious when my ego is doing all the talking. One of the messages came from the book I’m currently reading – Eckhart Tolle’s A New Earth: Awakening to Your Life’s Purpose. In the novel Eckhart shares this story of two monks:

Two Monks at a River

Two monks are walking down a path together when they come to a river with a strong current. As they prepare to cross they see a young, beautiful woman in need of help to brave the waters. She notices the monks and asks for help. The senior monk carries the woman on his shoulder and lets her gently down on the other bank. They part ways. The junior monk is upset.

Hours go by and the senior monk noticing the discomfort on the younger monk asks: Is something on your mind? The junior monk says: “As monks we are not permitted to touch a woman, how could you carry her across the river?” – The senior monk replies: “I put the woman down hours ago; however, you seem to still be carrying her”.

Boy did this get me thinking! Why do we carry so much unnecessary thought with us ALL the time?

Our bodies don’t know the difference between a real situation and the emotion surrounding it. All the time the junior monk was brewing and upset his body was reacting to his angry, discomforting thoughts – his muscles would have tensed up and he would have been creating a lot of undue stress. We have the ability to keep anger, doubt, and other harmful emotions running through our minds, and subsequently harming our bodies, all day. BUT we also have the ability to be conscious of these thoughts and to separate ourselves from them.

So here is my challenge to you – Next time you are aware of your negative thoughts, be it angry, vengeful, judgemental or poor-me thoughts, I want you to be curious of them. Just let them be; acknowledge them, release them, and then repeat the following to yourself: I love and accept myself. Say it over and over. I love and accept myself. I love and accept myself. I love and accept myself.

Daily Affirmation: “I release the thoughts that are no longer serving me”

One thought on “The Never Ending Story…

  1. Ho’oPonopono! Haha. I told this story to someone recently when teaching them this Hawaiin technique of clearing/releasing/forgiving oneself. I like your insights about how the body doesn’t know the difference between a real situation and the emotion surrounding it! brilliant!
    Namaste,
    K

Leave a Reply

