Coconut Banana-Squash Soup

Creamy, Coconuty Deliciousness. This rag a bone soup recipe turned out so yummy! I was originally in the mood for butternut squash soup but I went to three (yes three) grocery stores and each one only had one, lone, ginormous butternut squash. Too big for me. On my last stop I found a banana squash; new to me but it looked almost like a butter squash so I took a gamble. It paid off 🙂

Coconut Banana Squash Soup

Ingredients:

  • 4 – 5 cups of banana squash
  • 5 gloves of garlic
  • 1 carrot
  • ½ cup of coconut milk
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Nutmeg
  • Cinnamon
  • Olive oil
  • ½ tsp of maple syrup (optional)

 

Preheat oven to 375. Cut the banana squash and carrot into chunks and place in a baking tray (skins removed). Add garlic cloves. Coat the veggies with olive oil and a sprinkle of nutmeg, cinnamon, salt and pepper. Roast in the over for 45 minutes to an hour, flipping once in between. You will be able to easily pierce the squash with a fork once cooked through.  Remove from oven and let cool for 5 minutes.

Purée veggies in a blender. Add coconut milk and water as needed. (I had to do a few rounds in the blender as not all the veggies would fit at once). Transfer the purée to a pot on the stove-top on medium-low heat. If needed, add more cinnamon, nutmeg, salt and/or pepper to taste. I was in the mood for a sweeter soup as I found the banana squash was not as flavourful as a butternut so I added ½ tsp of maple syrup.

Stir soup on stove-top for a few minutes. Transfer to bowls and enjoy! I served mine with fresh basil and crunchy olive bread.

Daily Affirmation: “I joyfully go where life leads me” 

Leave a Reply

