Be The Best Version Of You – Part 2

I recently wrote a post on being the best version of you. This is something I’ve been struggling with lately as I’m crazy busy, and as a result I’m finding it hard to show up how I want to in certain situations. This morning I realized I wasn’t doing anything proactive about it, I was only reacting to situations after they happened.

How can we proactively be our best selves? This is what I propose: for each area of your life that you want to see a change in, write down 4-5 words that represent how you would ideally like to show up in that particular situation. Then take these words and turn them into an active affirmation. Repeat this affirmation throughout the day as many times as you can. Write it down where you’ll see it so it’s top of mind. If you’re thinking how will I find time to keep repeating this affirmation? remember that our minds are constantly on when we’re awake; constantly running and pushing certain thoughts at us. This is your chance to control some of the thoughts that are coming at you. Harder said than done, believe me!, but after a few days it becomes much easier, and after a few weeks it’s instinctual.

An example from my life:

Friendship
Ideally, how do I want to show up as a friend?

  • Available
  • Supportive
  • Loving
  • Spontaneous
  • Playful

My affirmation: “I am a supportive, loving friend who’s available whenever my friends need me. My friendships are spontaneous, playful and full of laughter.”

Coco Chanel Quote

Daily Affirmation: “Life inspires me” 

Leave a Reply

