Cultivating Motivation

I’m cultivating motivation this month by turning my goals into positive daily affirmations. I’ll still have to put in a lot of hard work but I thought a daily affirmation reminding me why I’m working towards these goals would give me that little extra kick in the butt. My four personal areas of focus that I’m working on right now are:

  1. Exercise: Running, Insanity, Yoga and 8 minute abs. I signed up for my first half marathon at the beginning of this month (yahoo!) and while it seems a long ways away (Aug-23) I know that time will fly and I need to start training now. Another one of my goals is saving money so these four workouts were carefully chosen as I can do them on my own and they still kick my butt!
  2. Studying: I’ve been spending less and less time studying and I needed the reminder that school is not a chore, it’s a bridge to the career of my dreams. Plus the material is super interesting once I buckle down and dive into it.
  3. Blogging: I majorly neglected my blog over the holidays and it sucked. I wasn’t making time for blogging which consequently meant I wasn’t making time for me. It’s so easy to put everyone else’s needs before our own but ultimately this will end in frustration, contempt and regret.
  4. Saving Money: A major goal of mine has been to demolish my debt. Since enrolling in night school this has been challenging but something I still need to get a handle on. I’m no longer in my early twenties, I am a full fledged adult who should have a handle on my finances. I have some big dreams to chase and need to drop the weight of debt so I can catch them.

More so than making my goals public to the world (eep!) I’ve shared them so I can show you how I turned them into positive affirmations. I wanted to remind myself how each of these goals nourishes me so I matched each one with what I thought it best nourished. For example: Exercise and Body; Studying and Soul; Blogging and Creativity; Saving Money and Peace of Mind. I then wrote these into an affirmation which I posted on my fridge so that I can read them everyday.

I nourish my…
body by exercising
soul by studying
creativity by blogging
peace of mind by saving money

Now each time I falter from my goals there’s something bigger attached to it. I’m not just recklessly spending money, I’m consciously undoing my peace of mind. Woah! Suddenly that dinner out doesn’t seem worth it if the price to pay is my peace of mind. See what I mean? It’s adding that extra kick to keep me on track.

What goals are you working towards right now? How can you apply this in your life?

Xo

Daily Affirmation: “I nourish my dreams and my dreams nourish me” 

3 thoughts on “Cultivating Motivation

  1. Yay for you Kel! This is such an inspiring Blog. A great reminder to keep myself “on track”.
    BTW: I missed your Blog, so glad you are back on it! 😉

  2. Great post Kelly! Those last three really resonated with me – I did a “no frills February” to challenge myself to look at my consumption habits. So happy to have someone fabulous like you in my life to remind me about my goals and why they’re important :). xo

Leave a Reply

