Finding Inspiration – April 2014

I’m constantly inspired by my beautiful surroundings. These are a few things that I’m experimenting with, connecting to, and motivating myself with right now.

 

Parsley Tea

Parsley Tea

(1) Parsley Tea

I read this interesting article “How Parsley Tea Cleared Up My Skin” in MindBodyGreen last week and was super intrigued. I’ve been learning about the liver detoxifying effects of parsley in school and, having suffered with skin problems for what feels like my entire life, I’ve decided to give this a try. Skin blemishes can be a sign of liver malfunction and parsley is really good for detoxifying the liver and the kidneys. So today and I went out a bought a bunch of organic flat leaf parsley and a loose leaf tea strainer and made my first cup – it was different, not a bad different, just different. I think the taste will grow on me. My plan is to drink a glass of parsley tea everyday for the next month. I’ll let you know how it goes.

 

Seasonal Allergies

Eliminating Lactose

(2) Eliminating Dairy From My Diet To Combat Seasonal Allergies

Annually I get these lovely (re – unbearable) season allergies to pollen. Normally they kick in later in the year but it seems they were triggered when I was down in L.A. last week and I still have them now that I’m back home. I’ve read numerous articles that say eliminating dairy can help reduce the effects of seasonal allergies so I challenged myself to give it a try. Lactose in dairy can be very hard for us to digest. In fast most humans lose the digestive enzyme lactase between the ages of 5-7. As the enzymes are difficult to digest, eating dairy adds a stressor to our digestive tract and immune system, making seasonal allergies more pronounced. I started the elimination challenge last Monday; the week days went well but I found the weekend was a bit of a challenge. I LOVE cheese and chocolate so this is a REAL challenge for me! I’ve made sure that my fridge is stockpiled with fresh almond milk, tahini sauce, tapenades and lots of frozen bananas so that I have a fix if a craving hits me.

  • Chocolate – replaced with Banana Smoothies with Cacao
  • Milk – replaced with Almond Milk
  • Cheese – replaced with tahini sauce or olives (they provide the salty overload that I’m craving)

 

Steve Jobs Quote

(3) Mark Manson’s Article – 10 Life Lessons To Excel In Your 30’s

Mark Manson’s Article 10 Life Lessons To Excel In Your 30’s is super inspiring! Manson compiled over 600 responses that he received from his subscribers, aged 37 and over, on what advice they would give their 30-year-old selves. The list is a compilation of the 10 most common themes appearing throughout the 600 emails. There are some beautiful nuggets of wisdom such as “Don’t be afraid of taking risks, you can still change” and “Nobody (still) knows what they’re doing, get used to it”. Manson includes quotes from his subscribers which adds this beautifully relatable edge to it. Bookmark this article and refer to it often.

 

Seaecho Coco Portfolia in Aberdeen

Seaecho Coco Portfolia in Aberdeen

(4) Seaecho

I stumbled across Seaecho on Instagram and fell head over heels in love. I have a soft spot for beautiful, intricate patterns and Seaecho uses the most stunning Pendleton to make their bags. Check out the full line here: www.seaecholovesyou.com/shop. Plus they’re headquartered in Portland, OR which means they are most likely genuine, downtown to earth, awesome people. 😉

 Postscript – Talk about manifesting! I started writing this post on Monday and throughout the week was notified that both Vincent Park and Charlie & Lee in Vancouver are carrying the line. 

 

What’s inspiring you this week?

 

Daily Affirmation: “My life is full of beauty and motivation” 

Leave a Reply

