Happy Healthy Halloween!

Hello friends!

As we quickly approach one of my favourite holidays of the year I wanted to remind you that you can have a healthy Halloween. I had my best girlfriends over on Friday for a little Halloween fun (ie, watching Hocus Pocus), and served up a tasty spread that was free of GMO’s and artificial sweeteners (ie. no store bought candy). It’s okay to indulge in a few candies over Halloween but I used to have a BIG bowl of candy out about a week before Oct-31 and would eat from it everyday! And I know I wasn’t the only one.

Healthy Halloween 2.0

Curry-Spiced Pumpkin Seeds
Of course I had to carve up a big scary pumpkin before the party! I bought an organic pumpkin this year and unfortunately he just didn’t last the week after I carved him, by Friday he was full of mould so I had to toss him before the party. A great life lesson that bacteria and mould much prefer organic foods 😉 However I did manage to harvest the delicious seeds from his belly post-carve and made this yummy snack. It’s even better if you add nuts like cashews and almonds.

Pumpkin Seeds

Ingredients
1 tablespoon fresh lime juice
1 teaspoon olive oil (and a bit more to lightly coat the baking sheet)
1 tablespoon curry powder
1 1/2 teaspoons coarse kosher salt
1/8 teaspoon cayenne pepper
12 ounces hulled pumpkin seeds (about 2 1/2 cups)

Preparation
Preheat oven to 350°F. Line large rimmed baking sheet with parchment; spray with olive oil. Whisk lime juice, and oil in large bowl. Add next 3 ingredients; whisk. Add pumpkin seeds; toss. Transfer to baking sheet, spreading evenly. Bake until toasted and fragrant, stirring often, about 20 minutes. Cool on sheet. Can be made 5 days ahead. Store toasted seeds airtight at room temperature.

Raw Carrot Cake Balls (via Joyous Health)
This recipe by Joy McCarthy recently came into my life and I am a wee bit obsessed! The flavours in these carrot cake balls are out of this world. To make them extra spooky you can add a googly eye to each so that they look like a platter of eye balls. YUM 😉

Get the recipe here.

Raw Carrot Cake Balls

Photo c/o Joyous Health (joyoushealth.com)

Spooky Drink Labels
And of course no party is complete without a few bottles of your favourite beverages! Wine, sparkling water, kombucha, whatever you’re into here’s a fun way to dress them up – spooky drink labels. I found these gems on Elli.com

HalloweenBottleLabels21

Photo c/o The Elli Blog (www.elli.com)

Spooky wine and eyeballs

I had a lot of fun creating this Halloween spread. I served these treats with local cheese, fresh bread, and olives as well. My girlfriend and her 4 yr old daughter came over early to help me set up. As we put together the eyes in the green solution (photo above) we injected a little gratitude into the process. For each eye we threw into the cylinder we made sure to attach a good intention to it; things like “I’m grateful for time spent with good friends”, “I’m grateful for the unconditional love from my dog”, and “I’m grateful for my teddy bear”. (Can you guess who said that last one?) I was totally blown away as this idea came from my friends daughter! The world is a truly beautiful place with the next generation bursting with gratitude for life. That’s all for now. Happy Halloween loves! I hope it’s magical.

Daily Affirmation: “life is full of magic when I slow down to see it”

PS – For a few more healthy Halloween treats check out my post from last year: More Halloween Treats

One thought on “Happy Healthy Halloween!

Leave a Reply

