How To Get Your Digestion Back On Track After The Holidays

Happy New Year beautiful readers! I hope you had an amazing holiday season and were able to enjoy some time off to rest and be with the ones you love most. My holidays were exceptional! Friends, family, food, drinks, long days of movie marathons. It’s been wonderful, and just what I needed, but my digestion has been a little sluggish as a result of all of the heavy food and rest. Check out my tips below to get your digestion back on track. The best part is they are all holistic and inexpensive!

Tip 1) Apple Cider Vinegar; I love taking a tablespoon of ACV in the morning to light the digestive fire in my belly. ACV will help to start all of your digestive juices flowing and can be a great combater to heart burn. Look for organic, unpasteurized apple cider vinegar.

Tip 2) H2O! Start your morning with at least 2 cups of water to flush out your digestive system and rehydrate. If you are a coffee drinker, aim to drink 2 cups of water per each cup of coffee you drink to stay hydrated. Just make sure to avoid water 20 mins before or after mealtime so that you don’t dilute your food. I love trying new flavours of water; my top two right now are lemon water and cinnamon water. For lemon water I just squeeze a fresh chunk of lemon juice into my water prior to drinking. For cinnamon water I let a stick or two of organic cinnamon soak in the water overnight then consume it in the morning.

Tip 3) Switch to Tea; When my digestive system needs a break I cut out coffee and switch to tea. If cutting coffee completely is not an option for you right now, stick with 1 cup of black coffee in the morning and then switch to tea for the remainder of the day. Lately I am loving a combination of Burdock Root, Hibiscus, and Lemongrass tea. Burdock Root is an amazing aid that helps detoxify the liver. Carminative herbs such as Peppermint, Fennel, Cinnamon, and Lavender are great for increasing peristalsis and getting food moving through your digestive track.

Tip 4) Smoothies; smoothies are a great option for an overburdened digestive system. You are literally breaking down the food before consuming it, greatly reducing the work your stomach has to do to digest the food particles. If you’re feeling super sluggish I recommend adding 2 teaspoons of slippery elm or marshmallow powder to your smoothie. These herbs act as a gentle laxative bulking agent, helping to push food through your digestive system.

Tip 5) Raw Garlic; When I’m feeling sluggish and a little under the weather a clove of fresh organic garlic goes a long way! I prefer to mince mine and let it sit for about 5 minutes before consuming it. Others prefer to eat the clove whole. Whatever you prefer, just put it at the back of your throat, swallow, and chase it with a little water – bottoms up! Garlic is antimicrobial so it will help to kill off any potential cold or flu viruses that may be lurking. It is also acts as a pre-biotic food feeding the good bacteria in your digestive tract.

Tip 6) Breathe; consciously take 10 deep inhales and exhales. Seriously, do it right now. This is the easiest tip I have and it’s so effective. Deep breathing helps you to relax, which allows your body to more easily enter into a state of rest & digest. This rest & digest state is governed by your parasympathetic nervous system which is responsible for the smooth muscle contraction of our digestive tracts.

There you have it, my go-to tips for getting digestion back on track. They have not failed me yet! You should start to see improvements within 3-4 days.

What are you favourite tips to get back on track after an indulgent holiday? Please share them in the comments below.

Daily Affirmation: “I nourish my body by simply listening to it” 

Leave a Reply

