The Power of Affirmations

Small thoughts have BIG impact.

You may have heard this saying before…

“Watch your thoughts, for they become words.
Watch your words, for they become actions.
Watch your actions, for they become habits.
Watch your habits, for they become character.
Watch your character, for it becomes your destiny.”

A simple thought can change our lives. Let’s start with one thought. A positive thought. A loving, nourishing thought.

I accept myself
I love myself
I am enough

These are really hard thoughts for people to believe. I want to talk to you today about the power of positive affirmations.

What is an affirmation? It’s simply the act or thought of affirming a statement. In this case, a positive statement.

If you use affirmations, keep up with it. If you don’t, I’m going to share with you the impact that one simple, positive affirmation can have on your life.

Let’s start with our brains. One average we think around 50,000 thoughts per day. That’s about 35 thoughts per minute, per person. Right now, while you’re listening to me, there’s a whole other dialogue going on in your brain subconsciously. 95% of your thoughts today are the same thoughts you thought yesterday… 95%! Our beliefs make up our thoughts. Our beliefs in turn govern our actions. Our actions make up our lives. What if I told you that our brain was a muscle that we can strengthen? Every day of your life you are either growing that muscle positively, or negatively, based on our thoughts.

The best tool I’ve found to increase positive thoughts are affirmations.

Affirmations came into my life through Louise Hay’s You Can Heal Your Life. Her book is amazing, and I highly recommend it. What I want to share today is a short excerpt from her book:

“Believe it or not we do choose our thoughts. We may habitually think the same thought over and over so that it does not seem we are choosing the thought. But we did make the original choice. We can refuse to think certain thoughts. Look how often you have refused to think a positive thought about yourself. Well, you can also refuse to think a negative thought about yourself.

Your Mind is a Tool. You are much more than your mind. You may think your mind is running the show but that is only because you have trained your mind to think this way. You can also untrain and retrain this tool of yours. Your mind is a tool for you to use in any way you wish. The way you use your mind now is only habit, and habits, any habits, can be changed if we want to do so. Quiet the chatter of your mind for a minute and really think about this concept: Your mind is a tool you can choose to use any way you wish. The thoughts you choose to think create the experiences you have. For example, If you believe “it is hard or difficult to change a habit or a thought”, then your choice of that thought will make that true for you. However, If you choose to think “it is becoming easier for me to make changes and think positively”, then your choice of that thought will make that true for you.”

You mind is an incredible tool if you choose to see it that way, and if you choose to strengthen it by affirming positive thoughts. Research shows that of our 50,000 daily thoughts, on average 77% of them are negative, meaning only 23% of are positive. Imagine how your life might change if you increased that to 30% positive thoughts? What about 50%? Imagine how your relationships might change. Imagine how the way you approach the world might change.

The best tool I’ve found to increase positive thoughts are affirmations.

Louise Hay suggests affirming your preferred saying at least 400 times per day for it to really have an effect. I know that sounds like a lot but trust me, once you start it’s actually pretty easy to achieve. So dear reader, I  challenge you, today – tomorrow – and the day after that – repeat to yourself I love and accept myself…  I love and accept myself… I love and accept myself… 

 

Daily Affirmation: “I am worth it” 

Leave a Reply

